Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Screwed up my Dobs? - sorted now (+ mirror fixings advice!)

Help! After getting close to a good shot of Saturn over the past few days, I finally cleaned my mirror (very carefully following plenty of advice) and used a new laser collimator to collimate the scope. But now I'm getting stange viewing, please help!

Stars are looking like 2 dots next to each other, as I go away from focus, they open out into a triangle instead of a circle. Going out of focus further creates the usual donut, but with 3 points around the edge, what have I done?!! I recollimated using the hole in the lens cap technique as before, but it's still the same. I just can't get good viewing. Why am I seeing these double stars and 3 points when out of focus? Images added

Please help, panic is setting in, as I'm not sure what is wrong.

Thanks!

4916_normal.jpeg

(click to enlarge)

4917_normal.jpeg

(click to enlarge)

First thing it don't panic.

I am no expert (there are others that will be able to advise).

But providing that all you've done is carefully clean the mirror then I'm sure whatever the problem is will be fixable.

I could be something as simple as the the little clips that hold the mirror in place are too tight - there are three of them. Could be something else.

I'm sure that someone will have seen something similar!

Ant

First thing it don't panic.

I am no expert (there are others that will be able to advise).

But providing that all you've done is carefully clean the mirror then I'm sure whatever the problem is will be fixable.

I could be something as simple as the the little clips that hold the mirror in place are too tight - there are three of them. Could be something else.

I'm sure that someone will have seen something similar!

Ant