Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

383L+ power supply voltage

lensman57

I know of several people running 383's from a 13.8v supply and many report that it performs better than at 12v. At least two people have had confirmation from Atik that its OK to run it at 13.8 volts.

A freshly charged leisure battery will be about 13.2 volts fresh off the charger so its not that different.

I would check the power output really is 13.8 volts first though - I have had some very bad experiences with Maplin electronics !!!

I know of several people running 383's from a 13.8v supply and many report that it performs better than at 12v. At least two people have had confirmation from Atik that its OK to run it at 13.8 volts.

A freshly charged leisure battery will be about 13.2 volts fresh off the charger so its not that different.

I would check the power output really is 13.8 volts first though - I have had some very bad experiences with Maplin electronics !!!

Thank you for your reply,

I have been reading the posts on the Atik forum regarding this issue and indeed some owners claim that the camera shows less hot pixels @13.8V, on the other hand one owner had performed noise measurement tests on his camera and found exactly the opposite  that his 383 had actually less noise at 12V nominal than 13.5 or 13.8V. The Maplin supply actually measures 13.8V . I also have a Tracer 22A Lithium Polymer battery that measures 12.3V at full charge, I wonder if it can power the camera if need be for about 5 hours as it is supposed to have a flat discharge and a very clean out put.

Regards,

A.G

13.8V is safe if it's regulated and won't go above. I had an ATIK 383L+ so I've tried it. There was definitely an improvement to hot pixels overall, though hot pixels were only a problem when the voltage dropped below about 12.5V. I did however get a higher readout noise with higher voltage. Specifically, at 13.5V, I had 11 e of readout noise, but at 12.7V, I had 9 e of readout noise.