Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

when do I say "enough is enough"

Good day, ladies and gents.

I am quite new to the world of stargazing.   On a whim about 2 weeks ago,  I acquired a Celestron LCM 90 refractor scope-- at no cost ( saw it in an airline miles catalog).   As packaged, it included a 25mm and 9mm Kellnar eyepieces and a prism star diagonal.  

Since then, I dove into various forums and websites to read up on my new hobby.  I have seen a plethora of infomation to temper my expectations on the variety and quality of viewing I can expect from my new scope.   Naturally,  I have read  a lot about various designs of telescopes at various price points, and I have also seen tons of info on accessories into which I could pour my money to possibly improve my experience with my current telescope-- eyepieces (plossls and kellnars and orothoscopics of all shapes, sizes, and prices), better star diagonals, filters,  dew guns, mounts, etc. etc. etc.)

Since I acquired my scope, I have had very mediocre seeing conditions, but I have  viewed Mars and Saturn (which was quite exciting even though it was roughly the size of a large pinhead-- with rings, though!).   I have limited hopes of viewing deep space objects.

I would greatly appreciate  your sage advice.   Given the equipment described above,  what should and how much money should I put into my current equipment before I am "putting lipstick on a pig"?    Would moderate or premium eyepieces make a large difference with this scope for planetary and lunar viewing?  What are the "musts" that I might as well buy? 

I have a notion to do some very basic astrophotography-- I don't expect impressive  results-- just some lunar and planetary shots to show some pals.

I alreay picked up a power pack, and a Celestron X-cel 2x barlow.  Should I stop now and give up the astrophotography as a pipe dream?  

Any advice is welcome.  I apologize that topic is so scattershot. 

Cheers.