Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Quattro conversion.

Earl

Hi Earl

Are you sure you want to do that?!! I've no experience of dobs etc. but just thinking about it analytically, I'd start by doing scale drawings of both and take it from there.

Louise

Edit: you can probably compare the balance points by just laying the ota's horizontally on a suitable piece of dowel. I imagine the 250px is balanced around or close to the trunions but I may be wrong!

I don't think there would be too much to be gained from mounting a Quattro (F/4) on a dob base.  Visually, you wouldn't really see much difference (any at all?) between a F/4 or a F/5 and imaging wise you would gain about 25% FoV for the same camera and reduce your exposure times to three quarters, but would this be enough of a difference?

A dob base is not going to be the best for DSOs, you will get field rotation and won't track as well as an EQ mount.  I don't think you can guide an Alt/AZ very well either.

Sorry if I have missed the point and to be a little negative, but I can't really see why?

If you really want to do it, a suggestion;

Put a broom handle on the floor, put the Quattro on top and move it backwards and forwards until it balances.  This is going to be the point you drill and mount the dob fixing points.  You might want to put you fav eyepiece/camera in first.

Robin

It would not be for imaging and its more of a why not than any other reason, I hear there visually is quiet a difference in nebulosity in the quattro a few have reported it.

Imaging wise, id not be using a newt im not that brave ;)

Nothing wrong with using a Newt for imaging. My 8" Quattro works very well, but you do need to add a decent coma corrector.

As regards visual I couldn't say if it would be any better than say your F/5.

Good luck

Robin

WIBBLE WARNING? :D