NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Astrophotography Newbe

Hi,

i have the following telescopes & mount and was wondering if this would be a good start for astrophotography. What things would i be able to image, and are they a good base to work from with the option at a later date for upgrading (dedicated ccd, camera etc).

Skywatcher Evostar 80ED DS-Pro.

Skywatcher Explorer 130P.

HEQ5 PRO

Orion Magnificent Mini Autoguider Package

Cannon EOS700D

and have been given a Celestron NexImage 5 (Not sure how good, but would be just for planetary)

I also have Nebulosity 3.

Your coments on this would be much appreciated, as i am new to this and dont really want to get dishartened by people sayin, this is no good, should have gone with this.. etc.

and thanks for any comments posted. Be gentle!. :shocked:

You are considerably more than halfway there and have a great set-up to start deep sky imaging. The 80ED and HEQ5 were a match made in heaven and the Orion Magnificent Mini Autoguider Package completes that nicely for you. The 700D will be capable of some great imaging within the confines of its built in IR filter which will zap a fair chunk of the all important Hydrogen Alpha (Ha) light but you will still be able to achieve some good results with that as your imaging camera.

Solar system imaging requires a different approach and neither of your two telescopes is ideal as they have relatively short focal lengths BUT Lunar imaging is very well within your grasp as is white light imaging of the Sun with a suitable front mounted solar filter.

The only things I would suggest you add are a flatter/reducer for the ED80 or a coma corrector for the 130P. The focal lengths are almost the same with these two telescopes so you probably don't need both of them. The ED80 will likely be easier to get going with. The 130P will be faster if you can tweak it into shape.