NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Stripped a thread on my mount

Mark_C

Hi all,

I did something extremely stupid with my mount today. I was adjusting the two little 2mm grub screws on my AZ-EQ6 to try and reduce some play that was present in the worm gear on the RA axis and have somehow stripped the whole thread out (long story). As there is now no set screw to hold against the brass block that positions the worm, there is a load of play in the RA axis, more than what I started off with. Unfortunately I'll be honest and say that I am not really a mechanically minded person and shouldn't have been messing. Is there anything that can be done to solve this? 

Any help would be most appreciated.

Mark.

Oops I've just realised I've posted this in the wrong part of the forum, should be in the Mounts section.. really sorry about that. Would it be possible to move to the correct place?

It has been one of those days where nothing has been going right! :(

not sure on the ezeq6 but on my mount I would retap 1mm larger and replace grub screw, I don't think it would foul anything inside, just check first.

You will need a 3mm tap and a 2.5mm drill bit, plus a tap wrench, there not expensive, drill a hole through a piece of wood, make the wood thick enough to allow the drill bit to go right through and through the mount housing, the piece of wood is held against the mount housing to keep the drill square to the hole, your going to have to strip the mount to clear out the swarf from drilling and tapping the hole.....

Hi all,