Trying to buy a telescope

Hiya! I am a newbie to all of this but I am trying to get started. I want to purchase a telescope. I am thinking either Skywatcher Skymax 102 with the tracking device or Skywatcher Skyliner 150. The latter one seems quite bulky for me to carry it as a woman a bit. Also I am trying to attach a camera later on to it so I can do some photos. Which one I should get? Any advice ? Besides I live in Scotland where there are not a lot of clear skies. Thanks. Ilona

Küldve az én iPhone-ről Tapatalk használatával

Hi and welcome to SGL, Yes very cloudy here in Glasgow

before you rush into a purchase best to read up as much as possible and get the right setup for you
I can't comment on the scopes you mentioned as I'm pretty new to the scene myself

but I'm sure some one will be able to advise you but if you plan to do Astro Photography your mount will be the most critical part

Hi and welcome

Both good scopes. The Skymax 102 has GOTO so will definitely help a starter to locate objects and it is a Maksutov so will hold collimation well. Collimation is where you have to adjust your telescope mirrors to ensure the correct alignment.

The Skyliner is a Dob and Dobs are usually reckoned as being good telescopes for observing because they collect a lot of light. It will need to be collimated, however, so be aware of that.

Imaging wise you will be able to do some basic imaging but not long exposure as the mounts will not be good enough for that. You will still be able to image solar system objects and some bright deep sky objects like the Orion Nebula and some clusters.

Before purchasing either you need to firm up what you want it for i.e. mainly observing or imaging. Both will do observing but the Dob will not be so good for imaging as the Mak. Others will come along and suggest alternatives I'm sure. I have just addressed you own choices.

Peter

Hi IIona,