NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Odd Request

Alien 13

Hello all.

I have a WO ZS71 and quite fancy actually having a look through it instead of having it live its life with  a camera attached.

I am a total noob at the visual side of things but this is a list of things i would like to try.

1. Visual of the moon and sun (with solar filter of course) i expect i would need something around 8mm  not sure if it needs to be a 2" jobbie or not.

2. Wide field with the lowest possible magnification which i assume would have to be a 2" one @ 40mm.

My scope has a FL of about 400mm and a FR of 5.9 but like i said i know nothing about  eyepieces/fov/eye relief.

I did try a std skywatcher diagonal and 20mm in it but the view was abysmal lots of CA lots of wierd things happening to the FOV when i moved my eye about.

Any thoughts, recomendations? Thanks in advance.

Alan