Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What's the best lens for capturing Milky Way

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to this group, astrophotography and my new Nikon d7100. My main love and intro to astrophotography is going to be capturing Milky way and star trails (atm!!!)     Been researching a lot about which lenses are the best for this....and yep, my head is beginning to spin lol      Anyone have any preferences? Was going to be purchasing a 50mm prime real soon but have read that Tokina (11-16mm f/2.8) is a fantastic lens, especially for reducing coma, astigmatism and chromatic aberrations...is this correct??   Any experiences or opinions on all tried and tested lenses is greatly appreciated.  Thanks

If just taking one long exposure, I think a 50mm lens will have too narrow a field of view.

I have a Tamron 10-24mm lens (it's not fast) but at 10mm I get vignetting on a [near] full frame sensor, and at the lowest f/stop (can't remember what it is) I get coma.

I saw a lovely review online of a great lens about 2-4 months ago, but can't remember the details of the website or the lens, sorry.

Someone clever will be along soon and hopefully give you some better ideas.

Good luck.

James

I have the same problem with my kit 18-105 lens with Feild of view etc so thanks for reminding me of that!     Was checking out Rokinon 14mm and 24mm, heard they are great too     Thankyou so much for the links, I will definitely check them out!!!  :smiley:

I bought a Samyang 14mm f2.8 for exactly the purpose you want one for. (Its the same as the Rokinon).

For a 'cheap' lens it is excellent. On the strength of that I bought the Samyang 8mm as well which is also excellent for the money.

Sadly I cant show you any Milky Way images yet as a) the best part of it isn't visible to us yet and B) we haven't had a clear night since I bought them (yeah I know - its my own fault!!)