Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First 150P use on Sunday - Clear Skies?

hi All

Am complete novice. Bought a Skywatcher 150p last weekend , and finally got a good night for viewing. A few interesting developments.

Firstly, I took care to get good north facing set-up, (no polar aligner) but found my RA's were all wrong. By the end of the evening I discored that the RA dial gives diferent readings on either side (!) and also its about 10 deg skewiff. Need to have a look at that.

Anyhow, got Jupiter + moons and very pleased with view. Used standard 10mmEP  + x2 Barlow.

Located M31, but the view was reallt pretty poor. Am confident had good focus. Also got M42, and similar result.

So, what I'm wondering is if the viewing just wasnt very good. Would be really useefull to know if anyone else more experienced had a look last night in my area, and what you think.

Another question. The moon wasnt up yet - but does it affect the viewing even when its below the horizon?

Cheers

Tom

M31 looks like a fuzzy i have never seen any detail from my house M42 is different that shows great nebulosity and the trapezium, the 10mm eyepiece is not that good that's why i bought the 8 MM BST Starguider from Sky's the Limit much better viewing The RA dials are pretty much useless on these scopes well is on mine they are too small i never use them i use a good map TLAO or Google Sky then Star hop. Try a couple more times, with the DSOs use the 25mm that is a decent eyepiece. 

Yup - the setting circles on smaller mounts aren't accurate enough really - they'll get you generally where you need to be but you'll still have to refine the search using the ra/dec controls. More trouble than they're worth imho.