NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Latest attempt at Mars

geoff_k

Yet another one of those frustrating evenings - clear as a bell but windy as hell (it rhymes)

This is the first of a series of Mars shots taken with the Toucam and 4 x ImageAmplifer, ATIK IR Filter and Europa 250mm F4.8 Newtonian. Got a few more to process as yet. Quite pleased with the colour this time around but still can't quite nail a really good focus.

I only wish my new Crayford focuser would arrive in time but I fear it will be too late for Mars.

Click on the picture to make it bigger.

post-13129-133877336029_thumb.jpg

Geoff No mistaking what it is. and you have obviously tried very hard to get the best capture you can from your toucam and fairly fast scope I am no expert at all on imaging am I correct in thinking the fact the images look just a bit mishaped is because of the strong wind influence?

you are seeing a lot of details in the images so perhaps someone else with knowledge can comment better than me. Still its a fine effort better than I produce mate :D

Martyn

Thanks for the kind words. You are right. The amount of movement across the screen was alarming at times but nothing could be done about it. A large reflector with an open tube is going to be more susceptible I guess.

Another factor may be that I imported the final BMP files into Powerpoint and re-sized them dynamically.

Anyway, I have now processed all the AVIs and this is the final result. The AVIs cover a period of about 30 - 40 minutes from 10.35 onwards.

post-13129-133877336044_thumb.jpg

Those people who have the misfortune to know me will know that I am a fairly easy-going person.

Like many folks on this and other forums I do the best I can with what I have and often in quite adverse conditions. Seeing is often poor in my neck of the woods and recently the few good nights have been ruined by windy conditions.