Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Web Cam Imaging

Langy

Hello

I'm a total newbie to Astronomy (always had some interest over the years) and only just had my first telescope Celestron Astromaster 130 EQ delivered on Monday.

I've already had a good couple of sessions with cloudy skies where I could get good views of both the moon and Jupiter with 4 of its moons.

I have an IT and Photography background so I am keen to eventually get images stored of what I am seeing.

To start with all the videos and articles I've been seeing this last week or so I'm interested in web cams.

Now as you can tell with the scope I'm on a tight budget.

I've just read an article where you can literally butcher any webcam to get it back to the chip and just house that in a relevant tube to replace the eye piece and should get some reasonable images of the moon and close planets, like Jupiter and Saturn.

This now raises a few questions on how things work.

I've noticed that when you remove the eye piece from the reflector or have it seriously out of focus that you see the X from inside the telescope. Now I'm guessing here but does this change to the item you are trying to view when the receiving plane of the item in the eyepiece holder hits the required point? i.e. the base of an eyepiece, the chip on a webcam / DSLR?

Now the focal length of my scope is 650mm, if I was to replace the eyepiece with a webcam or DSLR would that just be a straight 650mm lens for the recording device?

I know that a DSLR magnifies the focal length of the old 35mm equivalent lens by 1.6 due to the plane of where the chip compared to film is, making a 300mm lens into a 480mm lens. With a 300mm lens on a DSLR usually giving a magnification of 10x, how is the magnification worked out when inserting a webcam chip or DSLR on the scope?