Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Nikon D3300

HighHo

I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on this camera due to be released in feb.

More specifically it can shoot 1080P at 60 frames per seconds, so my thoughts are would this make a perfect camera for capturing planatary detail (using like a webcam/ccd), as well as being able to use to capture deep space images as a DSLR camera?

Im very new to this so there maybe things I have misssed when considering the above, so would love some feedback (including "its a stupid idea because..")

Lots of better info on the web, but heres the offical press release (key features at bottom of page): http://www.europe-nikon.com/en_GB/press_room/press_presentation.page?ID=templatedata\en_GB\news_article\data\BV-PR-WWA-D3300-07012014

Hi there HighHo , welcome to the forum ...  :laugh:

I think it will depend to a degree on whether you can tether the camera directly to the laptop and download the footage directly to the HDD.

I think the video aspect is more aimed at the run of the mill everyday footage to be honest , cats , babies , nativity plays , etc, etc.

I had a Canon 1100D briefly and you had to shoot the MOV files onto an SD card first and then download them to the laptop , when you want to shoot lots of footage of a planet you can/will soon clock up Gigabytes of data , much better off with a dedicated planetary camera/webcam.

This may not be the case with the 3300 but I would suspect so.

And Nikon have a nasty trick of charging an extra £200 or so for the software needed to use their cameras tethered to a computer , software that comes free with a Canon and works exceedingly well.

Hence the reason why the majority of DSLR Astrophotography is done with a Canon ...  :laugh:

Many thanks Steve,