Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Helios Apollo 15x85

spike95609

Hi. I'm new to astronomy other than looking up at the sky with some cheap hand-held bins, and I'd like to buy some quality large binoculars mounted on a tripod for deep sky viewing. My benchmark was the Helios Quantum 4 20x90 as it seemed a good half-way house between magnification and light gathering, but I've since decided that if I'm going to spend £250, I may as well pay a bit more and get something truly spectacular. I'm currently thinking about the Helios Apollo 15x85, as from what I've read the optics are far superior and I believe they make the sky light up with that somewhat huge exit pupil. Okay it's a smaller magnification, but I'd rather have a sharper and more detailed image than a dimmer one that's slightly larger. I've no great experience with binoculars though so I'd welcome any views on this choice. Is it a good one for deep sky objects?

The second question is what do I mount them on? They're 4.8kg, and although the Horizon 8115 tripod legs will take the weight the consensus seems to be that the head would not. I was thinking about buying the Horizon and replacing the head with the Manfrotto 502AH video head. Or would the Manfrotto 055XproB be a better choice for the legs? Of course I understand that the big daddy of them all is the Manfrotto 475B, I am prepared to pay that much if I really have to but I'm looking for good reasons to talk myself out of it as I think I'm spending quite enough already. Is the 475 overkill or will I regret not having it?

Oh and I'd just like to extend a general thank you to everyone on this forum. I've been researching binoculars on and off for a few months, and this site has cropped up again and again, giving me lots of useful things to think about which I haven't found elsewhere.

Cheers,

Mark

Mark,