NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

M42 Orion Nebula

AstroEd

I'm no expert but your second image looks over exposed.

If I'm correct in thinking that the focal reducer also speeds up the lens which means your exposures can be shortened, so try reducing your exposure times which should also bring out more detail.

I hope I'm correct in what I've just said.

Actually I would say your first image is over exposed. If you look at the second image you can see the 4 main stars that make up the trapezium area. The first image shows one bright area. This mean that since you have a faster f/ratio with the reducer for the first image you will need to shorten your exposure to not over expose the stars. The second image has a bit of star trailing starting to show which is make the stars bleed into each other and look over exposed when then actually are not. With the reducer you will be able to shorten your exposures and still get that same amount of detail and data that you would if you shot with out it. Just need to get the guiding down smoother and take a lot more subs and stack them together and you'll have a good finished image. Shooting at that kind of focal length is always tough. I see you are using a Lodestar and 80mm guide scope. You got a good camera for it but with this kind of focal length the best type of guiding is with an OAG. The guide scope tends to add flexure issues which can throw off guiding.