Absolute beginner

Hi all,

I have recently taken charge of a short tube newtonian,which I have discovered has no eye pieces.This I thought would be easily resolved until I scratched the surface.

Can anyone help in plain english the best place to start as I am eager to get started.Im not sure which model it is either,as the booklet covers 3 models I believe.Any advice will be useful as i am starting from the ground.

Thanks all

Hi and welcome. See the 'sticky' on eye pieces at the top of this topic area.

As you have a Newtonian you will also need some sort of collimation device even if you just use it to check the instrument.

Welcome!

I too would be curious to see a image of your telescope :-)

Especially before you spend money on a telescope.

Simple cheap Plössl eyepieces can be bought for 7-15gbp, or a small zoom eyepiece for 15-20gbp that is far from perfect but a low budget start.

If you have one of those laying around, or any other magnifying glass with short focal length and multiple lens set-up: They can be used as (simple) eyepiece.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/10-x-Pocket-Magnifier-Magnifying-Glass-Loupe-/261302742007?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item3cd6db6bf7

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-Hot-10x-21mm-Jewelers-Eye-Loupe-Magnifier-New-10-Times-Magnifying-Glass-DZ88-/370921263457?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item565ca15161

But only low magnification and with reflections and chromatic abberations. But you could start to view moon, orion nebula, Andromeda galaxy and open star clusters right away if you have one already.

Oh no, the Seben catadioptre :-)

I always have issues with judging sizes on pictures. There are several Seben telescopes like this.

The pictures are to small to read any imprints / stickers / markings.

Infront of the WWW imprint seems to be a sticker. Is this just the sun-warning? Is there another sticker near the focuser?

Seben has a 114/1000 (Star Sheriff), 150/1400 (Seben big boss) and a 203-800 (Orbinar 203).