NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Argo Navis/Giro II Review

Stu

Preamble! :-)

I've been using a few different mounts over the years. I bought a Vixen Spinx EQ mount with my mak about six years ago, and use this combination fairly infrequently now because of setup time. As a travel setup I use a Mini Giro on a Berlebach 2022 Report tripod which works well with my TV76. I also use a Giro II with my Astrotech 106mm triplet and this is probably my most frequently used setup.

I've been gradually improving the Giro II setup over the last year. Initially I had an old surveyors tripod, which was surprisingly wobbly. I swapped this out for an EQ6 tripod and the difference is amazing; rock steady views now. More recently still I added an 8" half pillar which definitely improves the observing position, particularly at the Zenith.

I've been observing for over 13 years now so am fairly familiar with the sky and can find my way about without needing Goto, but I'd been thinking of some form of 'in between' system for a while, and when an Argo Navis DTC came up on the forum for a good price I picked it up. I then needed to add the encoders which I ordered from Teleskop Service, and they duly arrived, nicely packed in a small box.

Box opening and fitting

The kit consists of an encoder for each axis of the Giro II with a plastic toothed wheel attached, and a mechanism for securing it to the body of the Giro. This is a slightly Heath Robinson affair using circlips but it works well.