NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

I can see the scope in my images

sidelight

Hi,

I'm fairly new to astrophotography but have been bitten by the bug.

I've just done a full spectrum mod of my 450D, and taken a set of 200 second subs (iso 400) on stacking I am seeing the reflection of a of the focuser tube and scope.  I have an IR filter, coma corrector and IDAS filter (all external to the camera) fitted.

I recently flocked the scope as the weather has been so poor in the UK so that filled an evening, but I thought the collimation was good

Any ideas what is causing this?  How to fix?  Could it be collimation?  

Regards

Ross

I've just had a thought, like I said I recently flocked the scope, but never did the dew shield (a home made affair from a piece of black foam from hobbycraft).  I am wondering if the foam is bouncing the light down the tube sufficiently to get this effect?  The moon was quite full a couple of days ago.

Cheers

Ross

Yep that is the focusser drawtube. I had the same problem on my 200PDS and changed the focusser for this one http://www.firstlightoptics.com/skywatcher-focusers/skywatcher-dual-speed-low-profile-1252-inch-crayford-focuser.html the drawtube is in two sections so you can adjust the total length of the tube, and ensure that at prime focus for the camera that the drawtube doesn't protude into the OTA.

Thanks,  I'm more worried that suddenly I can see the extra brightness around the stars - this is a stacked and stretched image but I've not seen that before with this scope.  Is this usual, and I've just been lucky up to now?  

Even on the lights this is quite noticeable.  I'm not sure how I would stretch the image without getting the effect above.  

Sorry to be asking questions but I'm stumped.

Hi Ross,