Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Connecting a Camera to a Skywatcher 200P

Vortexical

Hi all,

I've tried scouring these forums for an answer here, but my simple brain can't come to grips with it!

I've been using a Skywatcher 200P on an EQ-5 for over six months and I absolutely love it.  I'm now ready to take the step to start attempting some astrophotography.  In the near future I'll try to upgrade my mount to be guided for better tracking of objects, in the meantime I just want a nice simple method of connected my DSLR camera and taking simple shots of the moon and other objects.  But I'm stuck with a couple of very simple questions!

1)  How do I actually connect the camera to the scope??  The attached file shows what 'I think' is a T-Ring adapter that came with my initial eyepiece set.  On my scope I use 1.25" eyepieces and have a Canon ESO DSLR camera with bayonet fastening.  If somebody could explain exactly what goes where and what if anything else I'd need to buy that would be great!

2)  If I connect the camera where I think I do, then a T-Ring will enable it to fasten directly where my eyepieces would usually go.  However, I don't understand how both an eyepiece and a camera can connect together - so does this mean I simply use the power and magnifications of the camera itself in place of the different powers I'm used to with visual astronomy?

Thanks in advance as always for the wealth of friendly expertise and wisdom on this forum.  You've always solved my conundrums before!  :smiley:

post-21185-0-44235400-1384125162_thumb.j

2)  If I connect the camera where I think I do, then a T-Ring will enable it to fasten directly where my eyepieces would usually go.  However, I don't understand how both an eyepiece and a camera can connect together - so does this mean I simply use the power and magnifications of the camera itself in place of the different powers I'm used to with visual astronomy?