SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

HEQ5 pro synscan guiding

Hi,

I'm a complete novice. I've got a 130P (EQ2) and after failed attempts to take any pictures other than of the Moon (using DSLR for now) I've ordered an HEQ5 pro synscan. I'd like to get guiding working with the 130P and do some imaging then finally I'll upgrade the tube.

My question is this.

I have a macbook pro. I thought I'd probably use PHD guiding software. I'll get a USB webcam and some sort of small guider-scope.

Initially I thought I needed the USB ST-4 adapter (shoestring GPUSB) and plug the laptop direct to the ST-4 on the mount.

However, I might like to use software like Stellarium to goto the mount from time to time.

I don't think this can be done (slewing/goto) over the ST-4 port?

In which case, should I use a USB to serial adapter and connect the laptop to the handset. I think that allows goto positioning from software (right?) and alternative guiding control from say PHD. Am I correct here? Can I goto from the laptop and then guide or will I get software conflicts etc.

Is the guiding the same over ST-4 vs. serial (accuracy etc) - the USB-serial option seems cheaper as I think USB to serials are £10-20 and the GPUSB more like £75-80.

Can someone tell me exactly what I need to order in each case and the pros/cons of each, please?

Many thanks,

Louis

Welcome to the forum Louis ....  :laugh:

I'm not up to speed with PHD myself and have no idea regarding Macs but I'm sure someone will be along soon to point you in the right direction.

I use the Synguider stand-alone guider myself , that plugs into the mount directly bypassing the laptop , good for 30 minute exposures which is more than plenty for DSLR use I find.

Louis,

The mount can be controlled via the handcontroller using any planetarium program ( I use CdC) - this gives GOTO etc etc.

The guiding, through the ST-4 port is completely independent and has no real conflict with your planetarium program.