Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Canon 1100D or 600D

Druzzel

Hi everyone. I'm just getting into astrophotography and was looking to buy a DSLR. I've been looking at both the D1100 and the D600. Now as a beginner is it actually worth me spending the extra £150 on the D600, will I actually notice any real appreciable difference over the D1100. Grateful for any advice. Thanks.

Haha i was a bit confused there :huh: i thought you were talking about Nikon cameras in your post which went against the title. Its the placement of the 'D' that threw me off :grin:

Anyway, this is a tough one. The 600D has that sexy flip out screen which gives it the edge straight away. It also has 17.9 mega pixel over the 1100D 12.2mp, but this doesn't matter unless you are printing your images out large.

Now the 1100D has almost double the battery life of the 600D which straight away is important if you are imaging for long periods, especially if its cold. It's also lighter which is good if you ever plan on putting it on a scope!

The only thing that would make me go for the 600D is the variable screen, it always draws me in. But if you want to save a bit of money, the 1100D is a great DSLR to get started with. To be honest it is probably better suited for astro work, but i dont know what kind of imaging you will be doing so the decision is yours!

Heres a great comaprison - http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-1100D-vs-Canon-600d

Well I have just bought the 1100D today and although I haven't used it for AP work yet I have to say this is a really nice entry camera, the quality of the image is great and has some neat little tricks on the electronics, I feel it very intuitive to use so if you're like me a novice at all these sports then you will find it easy to pick up and start enjoying it straight away :grin: here's one from this afternoon post-30745-0-97053200-1377882423_thumb.j