Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Crash course in Planetary imaging ??

sharpie78

Hi Peeps,

I'm just starting out in astronomy and imaging and need some tips.....Please.

I've got an Orion Spaceprobe 130 EQ on EQ2 mount (no motor drives.....yet), a few EP's and 2x barlow for visual observing and just need to know what other kit I might need (already saving for HEQ5 goto mount) and the best way to start off imaging.

I've got 2 webcams.....Microsoft lifecam 3000 hd and a Trust Primo. Done the mod on the Lifecam so it'll go in my scope and the Trust Primo had a screw in/out lens so I bought an adapter and IR filter from Altair Astro. (haven't attempted LX mods)

I've downloaded sharpcap and registax so..... "I've got some of the gear but still no real idea". Just waiting for clear night now to tinker with it all.

Any tips on sharpcap settings, best way to start off would be greatly appreciated.

Also....if anyone who knows how to hack the electronics for the webcams I've got, for LX mods etc please get in touch.

Many thanks in advance

Clear skies

:grin:

Basically need motors.

Don't think any of the packages will take into account a drifting planet over the sensor, also the sensor is small so planet disappears fast and you will not have enough frames to make an attempt worthwhile.

As the planet appears always on the move there would be a reduced number of frame that and stacking package would consider good enough to use.

Basic idea is find planet, centre planet on webcam, say go and collect a .avi movie and feed this into processing software.

Software will select "good" frames and stack these. "Good" may be 1 in every 10 frames.

Planets are bright so most use a barlow 3x, 5x to get a bigger planetary image.

Really you need a motor.

Don't think any of the packages will take into account a drifting planet over the sensor, also the sensor is small so planet disappears fast and you will not have enough frames to make an attempt worthwhile.