Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Which mount please?

ramstar

I've had my 200 Dob for a few months now and am more than pleased with it. However, with a view to looking out for gear that will get me into imaging, particularly planets and the moon, I thought one option would be to buy used as and when what I felt would be a piece of kit became available., even if I took 12 months to be up and running. Doesn't work like that though does it?

I bought an Evostar 100ED Pro (impulse buy as you do) and now want to start usingit.

Will the HEQ Pro be stable enough for the Evostar but ill it also support the Dob or should I be thinking more along the HEQ6 Pro?I

I have just purchased an EQ6 and the advice I have been receiving for a couple of years (while thinking of buying one) is that the best way to invest is to get the best you can afford. Buy a lesser mount, and you will regret it. I think you would find the HEQ5 a disappointment with the 8" scope. And if you go for the EQ6, take note of the comments on here (and elsewhere) on the altitude bolts - buy replacements at the same time (£28.75 from Astrodevelopments).

Just a thought: as you are imaging, you will presumably be using the laptop on each session, so save yourself a few quid and go for the syntrek version rather than the synscan version. Then add EQMOD to your laptop and control the scope with that. You will need an appropriate cable, which you can make yourself (there is lots of advice on this on the net) or buy one at the same time (like I did - £27 from FLO - still a saving of over £70 compared to the synscan).

I was absolutely paranoid about not being able to get it all working together, but it is really simple. Believe me, if I can do it, ANYONE can do it.

HTH