NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Telescope advice

kernowsims

Hi, I am fairly new to astronomy and bought a basic telescope (Celestron 70mm Powerseeker - azimuth mount). This has been great and I have had good views of the moon, Jupiter and also Saturn but I really want an better mount and to see more and better detail so am already looking at new telescopes! I have looked at the Skywatcher Evostar 120 - EQ3-2 and wondered whether this will make a noticeable difference to my viewing or whether I am better off saving up for something bigger but don't have loads of money......any advice would be really welcomed. Anything on solar viewing would also be helpful. Thanks, Chris

Hi Chris and welcome to SGL, scope choice is a personal thing and revolves around really what you want to observe, the Evostar 120 will certainly be an improvement on the 70mm but so will a 200mm Dob, be quite a dramatic improvement yet again. For less than you were going to pay for your 120mm EQ3-2. Such a scope will provide you with rewarding views from planets to DSO, and at some time in the future, when finances allow, you can always mount the scope on a GEM. Something for you to think about. As to Solar observing a dedicated Solar scope is expensive, but most acquire the Baader AstroSolar safety film to form a mask to fit over the end of the scope. I know it is repeating what you have heard before, but Solar viewing can be rewarding, but also highly dangerous, if the proper guide lines to Solar observing are ignored, there are on short cuts, to do so could cost you your eyesight. Enjoy your Astronomy :)

Hi Chris welcome to the lounge

Like everything the more money you have the better kit you

can buy, the 200p dob is a good starter scope, and very good

value, aperture is what you need to get better views, so going

from 90mm to 200mm gives you all you will need, until the dreaded

aperture fever sets in, everyone get's it in the end.

Good Luck and Clear Sky's