NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Suggestions to an imaging issue please?

Hi everyone

I am relatively new to astrophotography and have had some successes but twice as many disappointments in all honesty...

I am currently using a Canon DSLR via my 8" Reflector with GoTo/Tracking. I a stacking images in DSS and then processing them in Photoshop to get a final image. Given that I do not currently have a guide-scope with a star tracker (such as Synguider or similar), when shooting for 45 second exposures or more I am getting star trails, so the final image is poor and star detection in DSS is low too (maybe that's another issue altogether..?!).

What would you recommend for now? Is it better in this instance to take shorter exposures (Say 20 Seconds) and stack more frames (Say 30+)? I am aiming mostly at Clusters, Galaxies and some nebulae.

Any advice/tips is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

I have had some reasonable results with a very similar set up to yours. Yes you would need to reduce the exposure times. Firstly though make sure your polar alignment is as accurate as possible, as this will make a big difference and could possibly be the source of some of the trailing. The work through different exposure times until you have reduced the trailing to your satisfaction. As an example, try 40 seconds, then 35 seconds, then 30 seconds and so on until you get the desired results.

You have a big heavy scope on a mount that is under the general accepted minimum for imaging work, so you are going to need to go back to the basics - make sure your mount is polar aligned as well as you can and balanced in each axis perfectly. Even then, you will be doing well to get 45 sec subs without any guiding on that mount & OTA