NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Autoguiding a Losmandy G11

Hi everyone,

I have a Losmandy G11 (not Gemini) and would like to set it up with an autoguiding system. I have never done any autoguiding before, but read many of the posts about it and read many adverts for kit that seem to range enormously in price!

The instructions for the Losmandy state that the CCD port will work with "all SBIG Auto Guiders", and I see many references to ST-4 autoguiders. Is that the same thing? If so what do I plug in and where?

I have a Celestron Neximage which works on my Windows 7 laptop and which I think can be used to autoguide. While I understand it's limitations re not picking up even moderately bright stars, I hope to get round that by using a resonably large guidescope.

I guess I would use something like PHD software, but how do I connect PHD software to the losmandy? Do I need some kind of adaptor to connect the telephone type cable from the Losmandy to a USB port on the PC?

Perhaps someone knows of a (simple!) explanation to the mysteries of ASCOM, GPUSB, GPINT, Pierro Astro, GCUSB, ST-4, and how they connect and what is compatible as I have trolled round the 'net and cannot find a good explanation of how it all goes together :icon_scratch:

Hi,

The Losmandy G11 uses the ST4 pin layout for the guider port. Though when connecting a guider you have to make sure the guiding camera uses potential free contacts. or in other words there can be no voltage on the output of the autoguider. Essentially the autoguider input of the losmandy is a direct replacement of the buttons of the hand control. So you actually need to be sure that the output of the autoguider uses simple contacts and puts no "foreign" voltages on the G11 electronics as this may damage them. Normally true ST4 output should be compatible. Some camera's may require a relay box (like for instance the SBIG ST7 and up or SBIG STL cameras ) .