Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

televue np-101 (or 101is) vs Stellarvue sv115te (or t) telescopes

The Televue scope, while no doubt excellent for observing is intended for imaging.

If you were observing you could pick up a TV102 much cheaper and it is every bit as good or better for observing.

I have no experience with the Stellarvue scope

The Televue NP101 is argued by many to be perhaps the finest 4" Apo available on the market today (though other premium manufacturers such as Takahashi, APM, Astrophysics Inc, et al may argue otherwise). Though it has been optimised for astrophotography, it is still ideally suited for visual use. You mention in your original post "not yet imaging" which indicates you may pursue that at a later date. The NP101 has an advantage there that the optical design will not need a field flattner as it inherently corrects for that by using two elements up front and 2 towards the rear of the scope.

Vic Maris at Stellarvue makes an excellent range of scopes (have looked through one or two), and certainly competes with the other big boys of the premium Apo world. If you did move into AP in the future, these scopes would require a field flattner so that is an extra expense to consider. I would note (from personal experience) that my 4.5" Apo (the TMB 115mm) seems to go quite a bit deeper than my 4" Apo (the APM 105) which is obviously of benefit when visual observing and the Stellarvue is several hundred $ less than the Televue. I am not familiar with the standard Stellarvue focuser, but the extra expense of the Feathertouch is in my opinion, well worth it. They are probably the best focusers on the market.