Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Peltier cooled webcam

wella

I was thinking of doing a few experiments with Peltier cooling of a webcam, in fact Ive already started to buy a few bits and pieces that i need.

I'm new to this (not that it will stop me!) so please PLEASE correct my ignorance and mistakes and sweeping statements.... OK off we go...

Now the way I see it the effects of cooling on a webcam are going to be much less than with a dSLR due to the fact that the exposures are likely to be shorter. But it should still be beneficial. Also I can do these experiments and it isn't going to cost me very much. I'm aiming to spend less than £40 on the whole project.

I have been reading all the threads on here about cooling SLRs (Ginas has been most informative), so I think I've got an idea of some of the pitfalls to avoid. Moisture seems the biggest one and the most likely to cause failure.

So far I have bought a Peltier a fan and a couple of heatsinks A & B (ill use one or the other) and of course a webcam of the xbox live type.

I am also going to put a little temperature sensor in the box but I was wondering if anyone thought it would be a good idea to put hygrometer in the box too so i could monitor moisture . Ebay has a joint temperature and hygrometer. photo below. link HERE

8524037162_d0fef53893_o.jpg

Anyone tried doing this before? Anyone got any tip? Comments on my purchases??

Thanks for any advance.

Paul

Paul - been doing this myself @http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/177027-firefly-mv-mono-is-it-worth-cooling/

Results looking very good with 75% reduction in dark noise so far which would be very noticeable on dimmer targets such as Saturn.

Which ru doing first xbox or asda cam?

Only thing not so sure on is how much driver/software control you have on these cams - just got two xbox cams, but not unboxed yet.

Intrested to see how you get on so keep on posting.

Jake