NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Polarie/AstroTrack - Just what can they do? - Show us your best shots.

I'm a Landscape Photographer at heart but I'm looking to combine Astronomy images with some of my work.

Castlerigg-Circles.jpg

I've tried a bit of work with star trails and eventually I'd like to take things a lot further with something like a HEQ5 Mount and an 80 -100 Apo Refractor set up, but in the meantime I keep coming across references to Polarie and AstroTrack mounts.

I realise they have limitations compared to a "proper" set up but I can't help wondering just what they are capable of achieving with a bit of patience or imagination.

So if you have an image you're proud of taken on an AstroTrack or similar mount I'd love to see it. I suspect there are a few others out there that would be interested as well.

That is a very nice star trail image of Castlerigg stone circle I presume?

I love my AstroTrac, pity the weather isn't playing along otherwise I would have a bit more to show what it can really do. Can't say I have had much luck with the landscape versions due to poor weather when being somewhere interesting. Polarie is very compact, AstroTrac not so much but allows much heavier payload which allows longer exposures at longer focal lengths.

8077715220_ee8f2c63a4_b.jpg

The Milky Way by StuartJPP, on Flickr

My Milky Way shot was a stack of 10, 130 second exposures.

There are numerous reports of the Polarie tracking fine with a 300mm for 3 or 4 minute exposures, I have had success with 30 second exposures but have'nt had the chance to try longer.

edit: Yes you can set up the Polarie straight out of the box and it will work brilliantly, however the polar scope has to be bought separately.

The ioptron does come with a polar scope though.

Just rember for earth and sky shots if you track the sky then the ground objects will rotate but you can just use a single exposure and sort it out in the Post-processing...