Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Improving the image?

Guys,

I got out last night for some great viewing and had a crack an my first AP. HEQ5 aligned, ED80 with D3000 attached via T Adapter and followed all the advice I have read.

On looking at some of the images (Orion Neb, Double Cluster) I noticed the focus wasnt quite as sharp as it should be. I used a focal mask but on looking through the D3000 view finder it wasnt at all easy to get the correct focal image, even when using the brightest stars.

Another query is how do you guys get such large images? I have read lots of posts and seen photos of the moon, DSO and planets taken with the ED80 and either a DSLR or CCD. These shots show amazing detail, but when I attempted last night my image of Orion Neb for example was quite small.

I'm a novice but keen to learn so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

There are a couple of way to get good focus, take a image and adjust the focus, take another then repeat until its sharp, get a Cannon 1100D and use the Liveview this is very good, it also allows the purchase of APT imagine software really cheap but very good, or a Bahtinov Mask, this shows 6 defraction spikes you centre the middle spikes and you in focus, it does require a bright'ish star to work with.....

Can you upload one of the pics you took? Will be easier to give advice once we see what you've been able to capture so far. :)

As for the large and detaild pictures you often see here - they are not single pictures. They are usually many pictures stacked together, often with total exposures of 4-8 hours or more, and often 100-200 pictures or more.

Also, it's not just that, but we also take many calibration frames to correct errors in the camera as far as noise and hot pixels, as well as correcting for the telescopes optical errors.

Not to mention the many hours spent in photoshop or similar afterwards to drag out those fine details.