Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie Astrophotographer

Hi everyone

My first post on here and I'd be really grateful for some advice / opinions on an appropriate setup please.

Basically, I'm new to Astronomy but am a fairly experiencened photographer and I'm looking to purchase my first telescope which has the potential for astrophography (and videos) too. My camera is a Canon 600d SLR and I would like to connect it to a setup that would allow me to photograph the moon, planets etc. Perhaps more ambitious things later.

I've done a bit of research and have collated my 'wish list' for the telescope I want. To tick all these boxes may be too optimistic (if so please tell me!) but here goes on the things I would like ideally:

- My budget is around £200 to £250 and might stretch to more

- I don't want something too big (as in heavy) or that takes too long to assemble / disassemble (or too complex for a newbie)

- I would like to be able to transport it fairly easily in the back of a car for taking on hols etc (in a case?)

- This might contradict my earlier point but I would like something built well and that will last

- Further to this, I dont want to buy something then wish 6 months later I had spent a few pounds more (this might happen anyway!)

- I would like to be able to connect my SLR camera to it fairly easily and cost effectively

- Likewise, it would be great to connect to my computer too

- If possible, I would like to use it for terrestrial use too (but mainly for astronomy)

- I would like something which is motor driven off the shelf ideally

Sorry if that is a long list but I'd be really grateful for some help on this.

For an example as to the sort of telescopes I have looked at so far:

- Celestron Astromaster 130EQ-MD Reflector

- Skywatcher Explorer 130P Newtonian Reflector

I look forward to getting some views and suggestions.

Thank you.