Absolute Beginner looking for advice please.

Hello!

first and foremost, I am an absolute beginner when it comes to Astronomy.

I was bought a Celestron Firstscope 76mm as a "joke" Christmas present from a friend. Even though the quality of it is not amazing, a few nights ago I started to play around and saw Jupiter plus four of her moons, and at that point I was pretty hooked.

Now I thought I would take it a little more seriously, so I downloaded stellarium and started to learn my way around the sky a bit.

I can find Jupiter, Sirius and Rigel now without having to open up the laptop every two minute's, and for the first time tonight I had a good look at the moon.

But already I have got into a bit of a routine. (star hop around Orion, have a look at Jupiter, then come in from the cold)

I've had a go at M45 but obviously my equipment isn't really designed for the deep sky stuff, and though it's nice looking at all the pricks of light that cannot be seen with the Mark 1 eyeball, I really have no idea what i'm looking at as it were.

I don't really have the cash to buy a better Telescope, and to be honest I would like to see exactly what I can do with this little one before upgrading.

So my question is, what would you recommend should be my next step?

Thanks all for reading.

A book would be a good idea. Turn Left at Orion gets a lot of plaudits as does The backyard Astronomer's Guide. Neither of these are going to break the bank, but they'll give you a good overview of amateur astronomy and observing. You should also read the beginners sections attached to these forums, especially the piece by Alan MacRobert.

A book would be a good idea. Turn Left at Orion gets a lot of plaudits as does The backyard Astronomer's Guide. Neither of these are going to break the bank, but they'll give you a good overview of amateur astronomy and observing. You should also read the beginners sections attached to these forums, especially the piece by Alan MacRobert.