Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Decent Portable Scope?

Hi guys,

I've been looking around for a new telescope and, as a beginner, I had my heart set on the Orion XT8 Classic @ £359. It seems like a pretty awesome piece of hardware for the price.

I'm really interested in the Messier objects, galaxies, nebulae, etc. so the Orion's specs are really appealing. I live in a pretty ideal place for observing at the weekends too, given that there isn't a huge amount of light pollution around.

However, the XT8 is built like a howitzer, and it doesn't seem like something I could carry on e.g. a train. Given that I work and live in a different city during the week, I'm being forced to scale down.

So, my dilemma is thus: I'm looking for a telescope that is portable, but will still allow me to see some of the more unique objects in the sky. The Orion guy recommended the Orion StarBlast 4.5 @ £179, but the fact that it is marketed at children has put me off.

Ideally, I'd like to buy a telescope without a go-to computer of any kind, as there's no incentive to learn anything when stuff is pointed out. I also wouldn't mind spending the same £359 for the XT8 on a really good portable scope.

What do you guys think?

Thanks!

Chris.

What about a celesta on Nexstar off eBay? Also you could easily get a 127 skywatcher version.. Goto helps a lot and 8inch only gives you so much.. I have always felt like wanting for more because as much as 8 inch is praised .. It's all down to the sky u live underneath. I believe less aperture with the option of carrying it far away is better than larger aperture in the middle is light polluted city