How can I make the most of my scope with eyepieces?

eoinzy

Hi,

First post so I hope this is in the right place!!

I just bought the Skywatcher Heritage 130P today (still unopened) as a Christmas gift for my mother. I'll also make use of it when I can! ;)

Anyway, it just comes with the 2 standard 10mm and 25mm eyepieces, which I'm guessing won't be great for looking at Jupiter or Saturn. Overall I suspect they'll both be nothing more than white dots, but if possible, I'd love to be able to improve the image with eyepieces so as to see more detail, or to be more accurate, see as much detail as possible!

I bought this particular scope purely for its size and ease of storage, and also so my mother can actually use it!! I don't think she'd be able for a big heavy scope, not to mention the lack of storage space in the house!! I'm aware it isn't the most powerful of scopes, but since I'm a beginner, I thought I'd ask on here for advice on how to squeeze the best out of what we have.

So, can anyone tell me what eyepieces I should get to squeeze that extra bit of quality out of the scope, and take advantage of its maximum magnification??

Thanks in advance!

You will see some detail with the 10mm at 65x, but a 5 or 6mm will show more, and is not yet over the top (4mm could also work, but needs better seeing). I do not know whether your mum will wear glasses when observing but note that many short focal-length EPs become uncomfortable. Long eye relief generally improves comfort (for everybody). Without breaking the bank TMB Planetary EPs and clones can perform well for a modest price. Vixen LV are also good especially for the money (close to Televue Radian, except in terms of field of view). BST Explorers and Celestron X-Cel-LX EPs also get a good press.

Hi, thanks for the reply.

First of all, yes she does wear glasses. But also sometimes contact lenses. Does this have an effect on what types of eye pieces I can buy?