Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Mount vs Exposure time vs Guiding vs Star trails?

jimjam11

As a beginner I have done a fair amount of reading and it would appear the heq5 is almost ubiquitously recommended as the minimum for imagining. However, a number of people seem to get outstanding results using lighter mounts both guided/unguided.

I think it would be hugely useful if there was a catalog of various mounts vs exposure time before trailing both guided/unguided and more importantly what kind of objects require longer exposure times and thus necessitate the better mounts. It might then be possible for a beginner to easily(!) see what each successive mount unlocks in terms of potential...

I guess my interest originates from questions along the lines of:

'Would a 150p on a guided eq3 outperform a 200p on an unguided eq5?'

'Would a 200p on a guided eq5 outperform a 200p on an unguided heq5?'

'What objects would I struggle to image on an eq5 that I could readily image on a heq5?

Tia.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply