Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Astrophotography beginner setup

Hi all, I hope you are well and managed to enjoy the Perseids! I saw 17 on friday night (I was out for a few hours).

I am a beginner to Astronomy and I own a Celestron 102 SLT (Alt-Az mount) and the NexImage solar system imager. I have taken a few shots of the moon and I am quite happy with them but I am really looking to get further into this aspect of the hobby and am prepared to spend around £1,000. That number is QUITE flexible but I am not made of cash lol. Anyway, I was doing some googling and I realised I'd NEED an EQ mount and possibly a larger scope so I found these:

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/skywatcher-mounts/skywatcher-heq5-syntrek.html

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/reflectors/skywatcher-explorer-250p-ds-ota.html

What do you think of that setup, are the two compatible? Also, will the OTA be compatible with my Celestron 1.25 inch eye pieces for visual only? I am not too fussy about GOTO functionality as my Celestron 102 has that and to be honest I generally tend to not use it. All I want really is tracking ability, ability to image planets/moon and DSO's well. Is that too tall an order for a grand maybe? To begin with I will be using the NexImage, which may or not be suitable for DSO's at all

< I don't know, but probably not as it doesn't really seem to register stars through the Celestron 102-maybe you can shed some light on that :-) >

but it'll tide me over so I can get planetary images until I can afford a decent DSLR camera.

Please let me know what you all think as I, like all of you I am sure, work hard for my astronomy spending $$$ so I need to get the most out of my cash.

thanks,

Phil.

If you are wanting to image DSO's, here's my thoughts.

Get yourself firstly a copy of 'Making Every Photon Count' which you can find in the book section of FLO. It really is an imagers bible for DSO's and will help you avoid many pitfalls.