NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

flashing star

Hi guys, this might sound as though i am think, and at times I guess yo are all right, the reason being my unusual thicky queston. I have just this minute popped my head out of the door and noticed a star fickers vigarously, and changing colour, cannot pin point its location, pt i am sure if you loo out you can see it. just wanted to know what it is

Is it close to the horizon (low down) and to the north? I just been outside with my binoculars for the past half hour or so (until a police helicopter started flying around totally obstructing my field of view) and saw the same thing. Im far from an expert and im sure someone with more knowledge will be along to clear this up soon enough but i think its a combination of the earths atmosphere and some other stuff that causes the flickering effect, not the actual star itself.

To be quite honest kvrees I have no idea, not very clued up on the night sky, thats why i aked the question, i was hoping it to be a unique star, or something like that

Thats the star Capella!..in the constellation of Auriga.

It's a bright star and being low down near the horizon, its light is passing through a thicker wedge of the atmosphere. Its the earth's atmosphere that leads to the familure "twinkling" of stars.

"Twinkle, Twinkle little star, how I wonder what you are?"

"Well I am a big ball of mostly hydrogen and helium and my light is being refracted through your thick and turbluent atmosphere" ;)