Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Any tips on what dslr camera to use with the 11 edge hd ota?

Hi,

I am just about to start venturing into a bit of ap...I was just wondering what sort of dslr camera to purchase to use with my ota. I have decided to buy the cgem dx mount and so cant afford to much at the moment.

Any help appreciated,

Thanks

Andy

Ps,,,

please remember I'm a total newbie to imaging so small words only please...... :grin:

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi James,

I was thinking about going this way. I was just looking on abs and found a few, most un-modded and body only. Do you know How much are they to get modded? Also do I need the lenses and If so is the standard lens ok?

Thanks

that looks pretty good to me, i would find out exactly which mod has been done.there are a few different ones, some involving the removal of the filter, others the replacement of the filter.

also try to speak to the guy on the phone before you part with any cash, a few burnt fingers on astro buy and sell recently.looks like peter napper who is selling the camera is a member of Norwich astronomy society so you should be fine.

DS Imaging with C11 won't be that easy. Aside of main camera you need guiding (a good one, OAG preferred), and scope shielded from wind and shakes. If you have a reducer/corrector for that scope then it's close to sane resolution. If not - you would have to do at least bin 3 (and you would have small field of view. With a reducer bin2 for a Canon 350D should give you bit more than 1 arcsec/pixel for imagin (and you usually don't want to do DS images at 1 arcsec or higher resolution).

would make a very nice planetary scope though, have you done any imaging with your webcam yet?