Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Image size

jaygpoo

I read alot online that using max image size as in 14mega pix etc does not result in better images of stars / deep space or planets. When I take an image of saturn my gut reaction is to crop it and get a larger image but all I get is a smaller one. Using max pix I was under the imppression that one could blow up an image or zoom in to an area an get a better definition . I am only at this point using the editing in iphoto on my mac. I do have photoshop but not enough usage as yet to get anything meaningful out of it. So can anyone advise on pix size for planet images using my canon 500d.

hi, i am a raw beginner with the astrophotography but a couple of questions might help others to explaint he intracacies better than i - what equipment are you using, Scope ? DSLR type, Web Cam, Afocal or prime photography ? Also most of the shots on planetary for us beginners are stacked web cam avi and prob a 2x barlow to gain more magnification.

i also found that theres a lo of info in the forum areas if you try some key word search either here or in the Beginners section.

Theres a lot to learn but most around here are truly helpful.

There are a few issues here. The first is that a given telescope can only resolve so much detail and if the smallest detail you can resolve covers dozens of pixels of the image sensor then you're not really gaining much by having them.

The second is that to get a good image you need to get enough photons landing on each pixel. If you make the pixels smaller that means you need more photons per unit area of sensor, which means longer exposures. However, where planetary imaging is concerned you really want very fast exposures which makes larger pixels (up to a point) more desirable.