Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What to check? - buying used skywatcher 8" dob

Hi All

Was going to buy a new dob when i had money, however a friend of my mums neighbour is selling one. It all came out in conversation and when i found out it was a skywatcher dob my eyes lit up!

The price seems ok but i have no idea how to check the telescope before i hand over some folded. Can you point me in the right direction.

Thanks

Oat

where do you start ?

I'm no expert but if its a friends neighbour could you try it first at there place, have a look at the mirrors, look for smears (indicating possible bad cleaning) a bit of dust is fine. Take the E.P. out to have a look at the small secondary mirror for the same.

Look at the screws / thumbscrews, do they look mangled.

Check the base for smooth movement, but don't worry too much theirs loads of threads on here re: modding / sorting Dob bases.

I think the most important thing really is the mirrors, anything else can be sorted out later, collimation, base etc.

If it looks well cared for ... hopefully it is !

I'm sure you'll get more hepful replies as well

Good luck

(and I think you are probably from Oxfordshire, wheres Oxforshire :evil: )

Hi Oat,

Best way to test is to try it out. point at something relatively distant and see if you can focus ok and the image looks right to you. Then try out at night, at least if close by you can return if it is no good!!.

Also have a look down the tube in daylight to make sure the mirror is not covered in grot and grime or scratched!..

Cheers

Damian