Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Multiple OMGs

pajr777

Sorry, I'm a beginner, a lot of this will be old hat to the vets on here... BUT!

I'm 45 - until tonight I'd only ever seen one moon. Now I've seen 7; and my five year old daughter has seen 5 (Saturn was after her bed-time!)

At least I think seven - observing from Cirencester around 12:10am 22/3/12 with Saturn centred I saw one object at 9 o'clock about 3 Saturn widths distant and another at 4 o'clock about 6 Saturn widths distant - moons and if so please identify them for me! (Saturn widths including bands) Edit: Looked it up on Sky Safari - Titan and Iapetus :) . No Cassini division for me tonight.

That was worth staying up for alone, but also the Gallilean moons and cloud bands on Jupiter - wow! Venus at about half-full (daughter said she could see a sunset in the 'scope!) - wow!

Then onto the Pleiades - beautiful, M42 but still no M43 - is it much fainter than M42?

Following Turn Left At Orion I also observed Iota Orion - I could make out A and C and a slight bulge in A but no split of A and ;), Struve 747 and 745, Sigma Ori and Struve 761. Still following the book I tried for M35 - I found an open cluster but couldn't relate what I observed to the diagram in the book so not sure.. tried for ages and kept arriving at the same cluster. Bit frustrated at that point.

Then a search for M101 the Pinwheel. Could split Mizar and Alcor naked eye, but again following the book just found empty space where M101 was supposed to be - also confused that the orientation of the diagrams seems to have rotated by 180 deg - up is now North whereas it was South? I need to get my head around RA/DEC and probably read some of the book in daylight too!

Then.. the crowning glory of Saturn - what an amazing sight!

Only my second night of observing with a 'scope and I've seen so much already. I'm truly awestruck by it all.... and rambling - sorry :)