NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Tonights the night - first proper bino look

OK so I have some binos that Dad came over with (8x40, something is way better than nothing), dug out my old planisphere and Sir Moore's guide to the night sky.

I'm going to hunt down something red that I can cover my torch in so I don't blind myself, and obviously going be warm.

Anything I have forgotten do you think? I'm trying to be Miss Prepared for my first night at trying to look at starry stuff with proper binos! Excited doesn't cover it!

I've seen on the boards that people write down what they end up finding and looking at, would you recommend that?

(sorry, very keen noob here)

enjoy... its a real treat. I would say just enjoy your first night and let the wonder wash over you ;) there will be plenty more nights for recording your sightings.

Remember your gloves and hat and maybe a reclining chair as your arms and neck wont be used to holding bins and will probably tire quickly... mine did.

Wow!! How different the sky looks with a set of binoculars! So glad I just got stuck in with the binos rather than waiting for a telescope, because I wouldnt have a clue! Its one thing to look at something shiny, something entirely different to know what it is your looking at and what is around it!

Firstly, the Moon is stunning! Even with the clouds rolling across it, she is just a beautiful gleaming piece of rock in the sky. Did go and grab a book that I got from the library today and tried to name some of the big things I can see.

So tonight I definitely spotted - Mare Anguis and Crisium, and then the 'middle seas of Serenitatis, tranquillitatis, fecunditatis and nectaris then nubium, and not to mention the big crater at the bottom although I couldnt see what that is called.

Beautiful and fun to just keep looking at it and go ooooooh! Got to work out what the less obvious names are in english as its been a long time since I did any latin.