Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

yet another newbie question!

Hello all,

I'm new to astronomy I have decided after a little research that a good way to start is with 10x50 binos to learn the sky and then move on to a telescope.

A couple of questions please ..

can anyone recomend a good pair of binos under £100?

Also I'm thinking ahead for when I do take the plunge and get a telescope I have earmarked the 200p Skywatcher dobson as its in my price range and have read good things about it. How portable is it I live at the edge of a large town so within 10 minutes or so I can be in the countryside in good darkness so I'd like to be able to take it out a bit. Last thing on my mind at the moment is how usefull is using a telescope in town? As I said earlier I plan to get out into better darkness but it would also be nice to have the convenience of using it in my garden.

Any recomendations or advice greatly appreciated ... thanks

Hi... & welcome to the forum

some good 2nd hand binos can be had from charity shops (try em before buying too)...& leaves you more cash in the 'scope fund.

A 200 Dob is a great 'scope to aim for..quick set-up...easy storage...etc

Hello all,

I'm new to astronomy I have decided after a little research that a good way to start is with 10x50 binos to learn the sky and then move on to a telescope.

Me too. I got a pair of Praktica bins for Chrimbo, traded them in (after a few weeks) for a pair of 10 x 50 Olympus DPS I from Amazon for £48. Which I am happy with for the price.

I'm finding the binoc's great for learning the sky, together with Stellarium. It still amazes me how many more stars you can see: bin's vs naked eye.

as to scope portability, if you are a driver it is easy to take an 8" dob out for a walk, just strap the scope in the back seats the base in the boot and off you go.