Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Blowing in the wind?!

dabiscuit

I have a Skywatcher 130MM, focal length is 650mm. I was quite surprised last night as I got a good look at the Orion Nebula, which made me pretty chuffed as my skies aren't great around here.

I really want to take astro images and after being surprised by the telescope was wondering am I better off spending a few extra pounds on a good CCD camera or should I just try out something cheap first like a Celestron NexImage (Would that capture Orion?!)

I'm not very experienced (but love astronomy) so any help would be appreciated.

maybe it would be better if you tried a cheap webcam to learn the ropes a bit first. These are quite popular and will save you a lot of money compared to say the Neximage. Not used the celestron webcam but I understand there is not much dofference in the quality of these two

Buy Philips Pre flashed SPC880 CCD webcam bundle at Morgan Computers

For wider DSOs a Canon DSLR body is much cheaper than a larger chip astro camera. I recommend the EOS 1100D body at around £300 I'm very pleased with mine as I've posted in other threads on SGL.

The order of importance in imaging gear, in my view and that of many others, is mount-camera-telescope. The mount has to track the sky and keep the telescope stable. If it doesn't then it won't matter whether you have a Takahashi or a Tasco, you'll get blurred images. And the reason why modern amateur images of the Orion Nebula are better than those of the Anglo Australian Telescope 25 years ago is not that amateurs now have three hundred tonne telescopes. They don't, but they do have remarkable cameras.

You'd get a great introduction to imaging by reading Steve Richards' book Making Every Photon Count available from FLO.

Olly

I started off many years ago with a SC1 modded webcam. I managed to get the orion nebula, M13 and a couple of small galaxies.