NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Aperture frenzy or am I kidding myself.

I have a Celestron Astromaster 130 EQ MD which I want to use for astrophotography.

My toolkit includes the scope, x2 Barlow, T ring, Canon EOS 500D and a nice laptop.

I have used the scope to photograph the moon, not too successfully because of seveal reasons, one was the camera battery was a little low and would not use live view. I focused with the viewfinder and it ended up being a little soft. The other was that the exposure was a little off. But the main issue was the poorly alligned star finder. I had lined it up once and then it decided to go out of alignment, Oh I hate the RDF :)

OK thats the scene set. Now to the question - How much difference would 200mm dia OTA make over the 130mm dia OTA in terms of magnification? I know the light received at the camera/eypiece would be better.

The main reason for asking is that I wanted a goto mount and I may as well go up in size if it makes a difference for astrophotography, especially since the size of the moon in my photos was kinda small considering the 2x barlow.

Cheers n beers

Ian

Aperture does not denote the magnification.

If you are doing prime focus you do not have magnification, just an image size that again is independant of the aperture, it is dependant on the focal length. Double the focal length and the prime image is twice as big. Leave the focal length unchanged but double the aperture and the image is the same size, just brighter.