NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What can I do with this Telescope? Newbie question

Hi

I'm a complete newbie to Astronomy and have never used a telescope in my life, but it's something I've always wanted to get into.

I've done a little bit of reading up already but theres so much it gets a llittle confusing!

I've been looking at a Celestron Astromaster 130EQ as it seems a relativly good starter telescope and is on Amazon for £127 at the moment.

So is this a good starter telescope and what sort of things can I realistically see with it? I'll be starting as a backgarden observer.

I don't mind paying a bit more if it's worth it though. My budget is about £200.

Thanks for any help!

I wouldn't bother tbh, for roughly the same price you can get a skywatcher heritage 130, much simpler to store, set up and use, our you could push the boat out and get a skywatcher 150p dobsonian, again it is simple to set up and use but is quite a bit bigger. Even so, with the heritage 130 there are still some wonderful sights to be seen, Jupiter, Saturn, the moon, maybe a few fuzzies and star clusters. This has a 5" mirror, the 150 dobsonian has a 6" mirror, which will enable you to see more faint objects. Almost everyone and his granny has this scopes big brother, the 200p, so you can see how highly regarded these telescopes are. Anything else you need to know, feel free to ask.

Iirc the 130eq has the same red dot finder as my old 76eq - and it's the most useless thing I've ever used.

The actual 76eg telescope was ok, but I just couldn't line it up on anything in the sky which meant hours of frustration.

I found Jupiter accidentally, after 60 minutes of moving the scope about, trying to line up the red dot, and eventually threatening to throw the scope in the hedge. Jupiter then moved into view, nothing to do with the scope, just an accident.

Thanks.