Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

interpretation of PHD graphs

Sammyb

Hello,

I was using the graph output the other night for the first time and I noticed I could get a nice flat trace but the Dec line started drifting and then coming back into line with the RA trace. This cycle would keep on happening.

Has anyone seen this before? What is happening here?

I also got these traces where the dec trace would suddenly leap what is the cause of this?

I've attached some screen grabs to illustrate what I was seeing.

I was using an SPC 900NC on a 9x50 finderscope on a SW explorer 200P and EQ5 synscan with EQMOD etc.

Any ideas folks?

Sam

post-22480-133877717019_thumb.jpg

post-22480-133877717022_thumb.jpg

post-22480-133877717024_thumb.jpg

post-22480-133877717026_thumb.jpg

post-22480-133877717028_thumb.jpg

I'm no expert and i have a Celestron mount so there might be difference's but if its a cycle that repeats itself wouldn't that suggesst Periodic Errors in the gears. Its my understanding that what ever the mount and no matter how well it was put together there will always be slight deviation in a full cycle.

In my mount its suppossed to take about 8mins for a full cycle which would highlight the error which you can then train out using Period Error Correction (PEC)

Possibly!!!

No, it's not Periodic Error because it's in Dec and all being well Dec isn't being driven at all, only nudged by the guider. It should stay put in a perfect world.

In the Brain section are you guiding in Dec in both directions? It is best to guide only in one since all Dec corrections will be in the same direction. I'm not sure what's happening here. I'd begin by disabling the Dec corrections on either N or S (trial and error) to see if that helped. I've only just started using PHD so I'm not used to it. I normally guide in AstroArt.