NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Modded EQ5 mount question..

Quatermass

I have an EQ5 considering buying the dual axis drive and modding it to have an ST4 port on it so I can guide with an LVI autoguider. The questions I have are..

Has any one done this and how did they get on? and also the dual axis motor kit for the EQ5 is not the same as the motors in the HEQ5 so is the difference anything to worry about..

Cheers..:)

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks Eid I'm not to worried about doing the mod its just knowing that it will work OK when its done as I have never used the guider before, but got to the stage now where I cant carry on doing unguided imaging any more,need more exposure time to keep me happy.

Can't comment on the mod to the EQ5, but the motors between the EQ5 and HEQ5 are different, in that the HEQ5 have twice the number of microsteps per revolution, giving far better tracking accuracy than the EQ5.

Having said that, I've yet to try guiding using the EQ5 (I have the pro goto) so it may be academic in that the difference in the real world and if you set them up side by side and used the same OTA with the same camera on the same target, the end results when guided may not be any different. Or that any difference would only be obvious to the expert eye ?

Can't comment on the mod to the EQ5, but the motors between the EQ5 and HEQ5 are different, in that the HEQ5 have twice the number of microsteps per revolution, giving far better tracking accuracy than the EQ5.

Having said that, I've yet to try guiding using the EQ5 (I have the pro goto) so it may be academic in that the difference in the real world and if you set them up side by side and used the same OTA with the same camera on the same target, the end results when guided may not be any different. Or that any difference would only be obvious to the expert eye ?