Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Battling with stretching etc.

earth titan

Hi there.

Last week I took an Andromeda image and I've been trying to make the most of it. I don't think there is too much more I can do with it but I'm interested to see if anyone else can get more from it and if so - how! :)

The image is as spat out by DSS and the large .tif file can be found here (still uploading)

Here is the best I can manage using Gimp..

Thanks in anticipation.

post-19169-133877709057_thumb.jpg

I'm just getting started myself and using GIMP like you - I find its working pretty well as I can't afford photoshop.

I found that I was having to over-process my images to get rid of the gradient in the background (even after a healthy dose of processing in nebulosity). Now, flats will of course remove that too but I haven't managed them yet. So I was losing data trying to chase the gradient out of the image and that's when I found this free product that does it in a snap

Molecular Expressions Microscopy Primer: Digital Imaging in Optical Microscopy - Background Subtraction Toolkit Download

I do some basic processing in nebulosity > export to tif > open in GIMP > do a bit more levels adjustment > safe to jpeg > open in the app above and remove the gradient then complete processing in GIMP.

I can hear all the competent imagers rolling around laughing at that process as going to jpeg kills all kinds of data - but it seems to work for me :-)

Hope that helps - your image is looking good - and tonight will be clear in the UK! :)

David

I can't access the tif file but looking at the jpg in Photoshop (and i'm by no means an expert on processing!) it looks as though the black point is clipped a bit so you may have lost some faint detail there.