Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

1st attempt at Pinwheel

drumsolo

This is my first attempt at the Pinwheel galaxy taken last night. This is 20 subs of 1 min at 800 iso stacked in DSS with darks.

I have tried to post process and compared to the raw subs have managed to get some detail but I am really struggling with levels and curves. Would be very grateful for comments and thoughts and whether I should have more detail for 20mins worth of data?

Thanks

Stuart

Did you take flats? Would probably be a lot easier to get out the details if it wasn't for the strong vignetting.

Unfortunally it looks like something os wrong with the focus though. good focus at lower part of image, and way out at the top. Or is this a crop image and the galaxy was at the very top of the frame?

Nice details of M101 for only 20 min though :)

Thanks for all your comments. I have slightly cropped the picture but only by a fraction so not sure why the focus is different at the top and bottom. I used a bahtinov mask but still not sure how to get exact focus.

What exactly is vignetting and how do flats help? Should I always try and take flats?

I have an LP filter but dont know how to attach it as I cant get the camera to focus, it needs to be very close to the eyepiece and the LP filter and tube pushes it back to far.

Vignetting is, in short terms, how the image gets darker towards the edges. With flats you'll get an evenly luminated picture, also making it far easier to process later to get out the details.

Buuut, close to the EP? You mean, you took these pictures yjrough the EP, and not directly through the telescope with a T2 adapter? If so, that would explain a lot. Also, it would be very impressive if you got all these details just through the EP.

But also, if that's the case, the first thing you shuold get is a T2 adapter for your camera... :)